Home > Chicken, Ideal Protein Phase 1, Recipes > Oriental Chicken Strips

Oriental Chicken Strips


Image

I found this recipe on one of the many Ideal Protein websites (Doctor’s office one) and changed it up a little because it called for teriyaki but didn’t think we were suppose to use it because of the sugar.

So if you want the original reciepe which also used sesame seeds and skewers go here http://www.hchc.org/idealprotein/recipes/

I didn’t use skewers because I didn’t have them and cooked it on the stove instead of on a grill.  Plus I am not into fancy presentation! lol  As you can tell the picture above it’s just of the chicken as my cauliflower in the oven took WAY longer than I expected!

I will say, you may want to make additional marinade to dip your chicken in if you want a lot of taste or actually marinade it for an hour as I didn’t.  I will say, this chicken was MELT IN YOUR MOUTH tender!  I couldn’t believe how tender and juicy it was!

Image    Image

Ingredients:

1 pound boneless skinless chicken breasts cut in 3/4 inch wide strips
2 Tablespoons olive oil
2 Tablespoons soy sauce
1 Tablespoon rice vinegar
2 teaspoons fresh ginger, peeled and finely chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon Walden Farms maple syrup
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon hot sauce

Image

Directions:  In a bowl whisk together olive oil, soy sauce, rice vinegar, ginger, garlic, maple syrup, cumin, and hot sauce. Pour marinade on chicken strips and turn to coat uniformly. Cover dish with Saran Wrap and let marinate for 1 hour in refrigerator , turning once. (I did not do this, I let it sit 10 min and cooked it up.)  In a pan turned on to medium/high heat spray with some olive oil spray (or pour a little in) lay the chicken side by side.  Cook about 3-4 minutes on each side.

This was enough for me and Mike for dinner along with roasted cauliflower!

  1. Cindi Jones
    November 5, 2014 at 3:38 pm

    Looking forward to trying out your ideal protein recipes.
    Thank you for sharing

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

