Home > Chicken, Ideal Protein Phase 1, Recipes, Veggies > Flattened Chicken and Grilled Veggies

Flattened Chicken and Grilled Veggies


021

So I was really craving some veggies, which for me is strange.  After being on this plan for over 2 months I do get tired of the veggies!  But I was craving some oven roasted veggies tonight.  So I went to the store and got some broccoli, cauliflower, zucchini and yellow squash.  I decided that sounds like a good mix and Mike LOVES zucchini!

23

I checked out other recipes online before I did this but my cooking time was less than most said, the broccoli should have been chopped up a bit more because some of the bigger pieces were not completely done, a bit crunchy, but good!  So here is what we had for dinner tonight, Flattened chicken (because it takes less time to cook and we were hungry!) and grilled/oven roasted veggies!

Use whatever seasoning you wish, I am only telling you what kind we used, it was quite good and I will do it the same way again.

Flattened Chicken

2 Chicken Breast (each weighed about 9 oz)
Lemon Juice (I use Italia, see picture below)
Sea Salt
Tone’s Tuscan Chicken Seasoning (Blender Grinder from Sam’s Club)

Veggies

Pre-cut Broccoli
Pre-cut Cauliflower
1 zucchini
1 Yellow Squash
Olive Oil
Sea Salt
Garlic Powder

Veggie Directions:  Slice up everything so it’s about the same size/density.  Toss with Olive Oil, salt and garlic powder.  Preheat Oven to 400, put on a cookie sheet lined with tin foil for 15 min.  Toss and cook until they start to brown, another 10 min was all it took me.

014  016  017

Chicken Directions: Pound the chicken breasts so they are thinner, about all the same thickness.  You can use the bottom of a pan if you don’t have a pounder (as I call it) from Pampered Chef!  Squeeze Lemon Juice over the top, sprinkle sea salt and the Tuscan blend.  Get your pan out and once it’s hot over medium heat put about 1/2 tablespoon of olive oil in the bottom.  Place the chicken seasoned side down.  Season the side sticking up with lemon juice, salt and the seasoning.  If you have a grill press put it on top, otherwise you can use the bottom of a smaller pan.  Cook for about 4-5 mins, flip and do the same thing.  We cut it open a bit just to make sure it’s cooked all the way through, but it’s going to depend on thickness.

This serves 2 people with some left over veggies for lunch tomorrow!

025

The lemon Juice I love if I can’t use real lemons, tastes like the real thing!

013

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

