Home > Ideal Protein Phase 1, Recipes > Bean Less Chili

Bean Less Chili


Image

Okay this is the 2nd time I have made this.  First time I made it I doubled the recipe and even the kids wanted it!  This last time I quadrupled so we could have left overs!  I don’t like a lot of beans anyway in my chili, but it is nice.  Of course the Ideal Protein diet says no beans, so it’s bean-less!  The original recipe which I found online calls for turkey, but I like my red meat!

Image     Image

Anyway, here is the recipe I used, remember if you like it a bit spicy add some more red pepper flakes or use hot chili powder.  I use a mix of mild and hot.  You can also add some leeks in, I had some sitting around so I added them too.

If you don’t want to chop up some onions use some onion powder or I use Onion Onion by Tastefully Simple!

Image

Ingredients

1 pound lean ground beef, approximately 93% lean
1 teaspoon rubbed sage
1 bunch green onions – chopped
1 teaspoon paprika
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
4 cups chopped bell pepppers
1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes – I use the petite ones!
2 tablespoons tomato paste – don’t need to use if you use less water
2 tablespoons chili powder
Kosher or sea salt to taste
2 cups water

Directions:

Cook beef in a large skillet on medium heat, breaking up beef into small pieces, when almost done add bell peppers, and green onions (if you want to add some leeks this is when you want to add them).  Drain any fat and add sage, paprika, red peper flakes, black pepper, and salt.  Stir.  Add tomatoes, chili powder and water and stir.  Cook on low/medium (should bubble a bit) for about 2 hours.  Add more water if it’s too thick or if you want it thicker add some tomato paste.

Enjoy!

*I will be posting tomorrow on how to chop leeks, green peppers and green onioins for those who like me had to google it themselves!

Bubbly good!

Image       Image

Leeks and Green Onions!

Image   Image

  1. Elizabeth W
    January 18, 2013 at 6:39 pm

    Kara, how many servings does it make. Two per batch?

    • January 18, 2013 at 7:25 pm

      Yes that is what we went by since on Ideal Protein you can have 8 oz of lean meat, so half of a pound!

  2. January 8, 2013 at 4:11 am

    I’m not a massive fan of beans so this is my kind of chilli!

    • January 17, 2013 at 4:30 pm

      I am not either, usually when I make my regular recipe I only use one can of beans. I only missed them the first time I made it, by the second batch I was like beans, we don’t need no beans!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

