Home > Beef, Recipes, Slow Cooker > Crock Pot Ribs

Crock Pot Ribs


One thing I love to have are country-style ribs, beef ones.  They seem to have increased in price over the years so whenever they are on sale I snatch up a couple of pounds of them.  Usually I make BBQ ribs as everyone seems to like them, but the other night I decided to try something different.  I went out and checked a couple of places online for recipes but as usually I didn’t find exactly what I wanted.  So I took bits from different recipes to try out.

So here on this post you get TWO recipes!  My typical BBQ one and my new one I tried out the other day because those ribs were so lip smacking good!  I don’t measure a whole lot with these, so I am going to do my best with measurements, if anything taste the mix before you put the ribs in.  If it tastes good, it will be good!  All the pictures are of the BBQ ribs as I didn’t even think to take pictures of the other ones, but they didn’t look a whole lot different anyway.

Oh and an easy part of these are you can cook them in the crock pot.  Everything seems easier when you can throw something int he crock pot, set it to cook and forget about it for 5-8 hours!

On to the mixtures!

For both of these recipes cooking is the same, if you have a lot of time for them to cook in the crock pot set it on low and let it cook for 6-8 hours.  If you need them sooner cook it on high for 1-2 hours at the most and then flip to low for rest of the time.  I don’t like to cook them too much on high as I am always afraid I will dry them out.

 

BBQ Rib Mixture

 

1 big bottle KC Masterpiece BBQ Sauce – I usually use Original for my big bottle
1 small bottle KC Masterpiece BBQ Sauce one of the other flavors, I usually use honey, mesquite or hickory brown sugar
2-3 lbs Ribs
1 1/2 c water
1 1/2 tbsp worcheshire sauce
1 tbsp soy sauce
1/4 c brown sugar
1 – 1 1/2 c grape jelly
salt and pepper for taste

Throw everything in except the jelly and ribs.  Mix everything up and let it start to get hot, once warm add the jelly and mix, then add the ribs.  Cover and let cook.

 

Pantry Rib Mixture

 

2-3 lbs Ribs (even more should be okay with this mix)
2 c ketchup
1 box beef stock
apple cider vinegar
1/4 c brown sugar
1 1/2 tbsp worcheshire sauce
1/4 c pineapple juice (if you don’t have it you can leave it out and add a little more brown sugar)
1 c water
onion – I used onion onion from Tastefully Simple, but you could soften some real onion and put it in
salt and pepper for taste

Combine all and let simmer a minute.  Taste it, if it’s too sweet add a bit more vinegar, or if you need more sweetness add brown sugar, or water.  Once all done add ribs, cover and let cook.

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

