Home > Beef, Potatoes, Recipes, Slow Cooker, soup > Easy Cheeseburger Soup

Easy Cheeseburger Soup


I have had a couple different cheeseburger soups that others have made but have never been able to get the recipe for them.  We had a lot of ground beef and I wanted to make something new so we browned up 2 pounds of it and I set out to find a cheeseburger soup recipe.  None of them online appealed too much to be because I really wanted to use Cheddar Cheese soup as my base.  So I read a few and picked out things I wanted to use from them and then winged it.

Needless to say it was AWESOME!  It was comforting, filling and so nice and warm in the belly.  Oh and I forgot about the best part, easy to make!  You could cook it in a slow cooker or in a pan on the stove.  I used my stock pot tonight as my slow cooker was not quite ready to be used (aka dirty)

Easy Cheeseburger Soup


1 stick of butter
3 cans cheddar cheese soup
3 cans of milk
2 lbs ground beef
1 1/2 c shredded cheddar cheese
onion – I used onion onion from Tastefully simple, but throw in the real thing if you want!
1/3 of a bag of frozen hash browns (about 2 cups)
salt & pepper for taste
any other seasoning that you wish

Brown your beef and drain.  Turn on your slow cooker or put your stock pot on the stove on low/medium.  Put your stick of butter in and when it starts to melt add the soup, milk and seasonings.  Let it sit and cook for about 10 min.  Once everything is starting to combine add your seasonings, hash browns, shredded cheese and beef.  Stir and set on low.  Stir from time to time until everything is heated up and combined.  (cook onion and add it when you add the beef, or you could always soften them with the beef when you brown it)

When I made it tonight I let it sit on the stove on low for about an hour.  We could have eaten it sooner but Mike wasn’t home yet.  This was so good and hearty!  Mike and I both had 2 big bowls of it, and only one of the kids ate any as the rest are sick.  So we have some for left overs!

  1. December 17, 2012 at 10:33 am

    Would be nice if we knew how long to cook
    In crock pot. For some of us who don’t cook
    Often. Thanks

    • Holly
      December 19, 2012 at 8:28 pm

      Usually, anything you make in a crockpot on low, you cook for at least 8 hours. Hope this answers your question 🙂

    • December 19, 2012 at 8:31 pm

      My guess is 3-4 hours, I haven’t made it in the crockpot yet, but as long as you watch it and turn it down when needed.

      • December 19, 2012 at 8:32 pm

        Thanks Holly! When I say 3-4 I figure high and then turn it down to low when needed. I usually figure anything in the crockpot half the day lol

  2. July 20, 2012 at 7:13 pm

    3 cans of milk? 3 cups of milk? or 3 cans of evaporated milk?

    • July 20, 2012 at 9:33 pm

      I use the can from the soup to measure the milk! It ends up being close to 3 cups.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

