Home > Cookies, Holidays, Recipes > Old Fashioned Ginger Cookies

Old Fashioned Ginger Cookies


Here is another old favorite I got from my mom.  I don’t like gingerbread very much, I will eat a gingerbread man every now and then, especially if my kids make it for me.  But I do like these ginger cookies.  They are not real strong but if you like yours stronger you can instead of leveling the teaspoon measurements do a heaping teaspoon instead.  Also I use light molasses, one year I accidentally used dark molasses, they were good the first few days but they got really strong over time.  So if you really like your molasses use dark, or maybe do half and half.


My oldest boy, Connor, LOVES these cookies.  They are his favorite every year and goes crazy when I make them.  I always figure the younger kids won’t go crazy over these cookies as they are not chocolate ones, and are not really fancy.  But they do eat them every year!  Also these are crunchy which make them great dunking cookies!

Old Fashioned Ginger Cookies

Mix-

¾ cup butter
1 cup sugar
Add-

1 egg
4 tbsp Molasses (light Molasses)

Add-

2 cups flour
2 tsp soda
1 tsp ginger
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp cloves

Preheat to 350.  Roll dough into small balls or drop from tsp on cookie sheet.  Bake for 15-18 mins.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

