Home > Holidays, Pork, Recipes > Glazed Ham with Roasted Apples

Glazed Ham with Roasted Apples


First I will admit I have never cooked a whole ham, okay once I cooked one in a crock pot but it was not this big!  My in-laws were coming for the weekend and I wanted to make a holiday meal.  Well I have issues with raw poultry so decided to go with a ham.

Good thing I got my Food Network magazine the week before!  I went to the store knowing I didn’t want a spiral cut ham, but I wanted a bone in ham…. and a BIG one.  so I found a 16 pound one and decided it looked perfect.


After talking to my mom about how I should go about cooking this ham, and borrowing her roaster from her I decided to use the bag method.  So off we went to the store for a Turkey roasting bag.  Now, if you don’t know me well you will think that when I say we went to the store it means me.  It doesn’t… Mike goes to the store for quick shopping trips most of the time, even if it’s midnight he has been known to run out for something.

I have to say I really outdid myself!  This ham was sooooo good!  I will be making it again for sure.  We ate it for a whole week and never got sick of it.  It was great in eggs, for sandwiches and heated up.

Glazed Ham with Roasted Apples

 

1 whole smoked ham (11 – 16 lbs)
3/4 c apple butter
1/4 c stone ground mustard or 1/2 cup Dijon mustard
1/4 c packed light brown sugar (keep more on hand for later)
1/4 c apple cider vinegar
1/4 tsp ground cloves (I left this out, so it’s optional)
8 sm apples, halved – I use braeburn
1 turkey sized cooking bag

  • Preheat the oven to 325.  Score the ham with a paring know through the skin and fat in a crosshatch pattern.  Sprinkle the cooking bag with flour (see instructions on box to how much)  Place the ham in the bag.  Original recipe called for fat side up, but I accidentally put it fat side down!  Don’t close the bag yet.
  • Mix everything, except for apples, above in a bowl.  Spoon about 1/4 of the mixture over the ham in the bag.  Close the bag up tight (instructions also on the box) and put in roaster.  Make sure you have the rack low enough so the bag can expand.  Make a couple small slits in the top of the bag (also listed on the box)  Bake 2 hours.
  • After the 2 hours remove the ham from the oven, cut open the top of the bag carefully, as you will put it back over the ham.  Spoon more of the mixture on top of the ham, about a half of what you have left.  Place the apples in the bag with the ham, skin side down (see my picture, I didn’t have much room and my apples were big, but it worked just fine)  Drizzle a little of the mixture on the apples.  Cover ham back up with the bag, put back in the oven for an hour and a half.
  • After an hour and a half remove the ham again.  Open up the bag and here is when you can do one of two things.  Put more glaze on the ham and apples, turn the apples over, skin side up bake for an additional 20-30 min ( 20 min for 11-14 lb ham, 30 min for bigger) OR you can sprinkle brown sugar on the ham and apples instead.  Just depends on if you want it sweeter or not.  The brown sugar is good, nice and sweet!  At this point I left the bag off the top of the ham and put it back in the oven for 30 more min.
  • Once it’s done transfer the ham to a cutting board and let it rest for 15 min before you start to carve.  I tansfered the apples to a oven safe dish, put a little butter in with them and a little glaze and brown sugar and let them cook for another 10 min.

Other things I served with my ham was:

Brown and Serve Rolls
Corn w/ butter sauce
Potatoes, I cheated and used our favorite instant ones, but no one could tell!  http://www.idahoan.com/
Carmalized Shallots, you can find my recipe here https://foodchaos.wordpress.com/2010/08/31/carmalized-shallots

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

