Home > Cookies, Holidays, Recipes > Cinnamon Roll Sugar Cookies

Cinnamon Roll Sugar Cookies


YES, you read that right… COOKIES!!

If there is one thing I love that I could eat anytime of the day it would be breakfast!  I love french toast, bacon (ummm bacon) cinnamon rolls………………  oh sorry I went off somewhere yummy.  So when I saw these cookies I knew I had to make them.  I was skeptical at first though.  I thought sure, they are cute but can they REALLY taste like cinnamon rolls?  Let me grab you by the shirt and tell you YES!  They can, oh yesire they can!  And they are worth the trouble.  Not that they are hard to make, just time-consuming.

I am now planning on making these for my oldest two Holiday parties at school in 2 weeks.  I think the kids will go nuts for them!

Now I can’t take the credit for these little beauties, Jenny over at Picky Palate gets the credit for these wonderful cookies.  But I will say I was impressed with myself for making mine looks so good.  Sometimes I am not so patient with things (weird since you would think I would need a lot of patience with 4 kids) and get frustrated easily.

Emma just had to jump in and help

Ignore the big dump of cinnamon in the middle of the dough, I let Emma help!

Cinnamon Roll Sugar Cookies

2 c sugar
1 c butter, softened
3 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 c sour cream (I really think this makes them)
6 c flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt

“Filling”
12 tablespoons softened butter, sliced into 2 tbsp squares
1 1/2 Cups packed light brown sugar, divided into 1/4 Cups
1 1/2 Tablespoons ground cinnamon, divided

Frosting (I used a lot of frosting so I actually had to double this)
8 oz softened cream cheese
1/2 Cup powdered sugar
2-4 Tablespoons milk, to thin icing

In a bowl cream the sugar and butter.  Add in the eggs, vanilla and sour cream and stir until combined.  Slowly add in the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt until combined.

Divide the dough in 2 batches and place each in plastic wrap in a disc shape.  Chill for 2 hours at least.

Cut each disc into thirds and roll into a 1/8 inch thick oval.  Now comes the messy part, spread the dough with 2 tbsp of softened butter. (do this with each piece of dough you have rolled out.  Spread 1/4 c packed brown sugar over the butter and then sprinkle about 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon (really I used a bit more).  Start rolling from the long and roll into a log shape.  Using a sharp knife, cut 1/2 inch pieces of dough and place them on a cookie sheet.  Bake at 350 for 9-11 min.  Remove and let cool and set a bit before removing them from the baking sheet.

Frosting – beat the cream cheese until its smooth, add powdered sugar and a little of the milk.  Stir until combined adding more milk until desired consistency.    Frost cookies how you wish.  The original recipe says to place into fridge until ready to serve as they are better chilled…. I didn’t eat a chilled one and I loved it, so you can decide what you want to do!  Don’t leave these sitting around by you…. I could have eaten one after another they are so good!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

