Home > Desserts, Recipes > Red Plum and Browned Butter Cobbler

Red Plum and Browned Butter Cobbler


On Sunday I was getting all ready to start my Christmas cookies and I came across this recipe on Joythebaker.com and decided I HAD to make it. I am not a pie maker, actually I have never made a pie unless it was made with a pre made crust and pudding! Now let me get this out there, I do not eat baked or cooked fruit. So I didn’t make this for me, I made it for Mike and the kids as they love this kind of stuff.

This was easy to make for sure! I am going to be making more of these using different fruit. Emma, my 3 year old LOVES plums and would eat 5 a day if we let her. Everyone really liked it, even though the plums I got were not the greatest, I guess that is what happens when you get them out of season. I think next I am going to try it with blueberries!

Red Plum & Browned Butter Cobbler

The original recipe was made in a cast iron skillet, but since I don’t have one I changed it up a bit!

1 stick plus 2 Tablespoons salted butter -10 tbsp total
1 cup sugar – plus 2 Tablespoons sugar to keep in reserve for top
1 cup flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk
3 medium red plums or 2 cups of fresh berries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

In a 10-inch pan, melt and brown the butter. I turned my burner to medium, be sure to keep a close eye on it and stir it to keep it from burning. Remove the butter from the pan as soon as it browns. Pour the butter into a small bowl.

In a medium bowl whisk the sugar, flour, baking powder and salt together, then whisk in the milk. In a round cake pan use some of the browned butter to grease the bottom and sides. Whisk rest of the melted butter into the mixture.

Slice the plums so you get about 8 slices per plum. Add the batter to the prepared cake pan, arrange the plum slices around the batter.

Bake for 35 min until bubbly and slightly golden, remove pan from oven and sprinkle with the other 2 tbsp of sugar. Put the pan back in the oven for another 7-10 min. When cake tester comes out clean the cobbler is done!

Best way to eat it? Warm with some ice cream!

Store at room temp for 2-3 days.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

