Home > Recipes > Turkey Burger Melts

Turkey Burger Melts


Ground turkey is a new thing to me, actually anything except ground beef is new to me.  Growing up all we used was ground beef.  But Mike and I like to be adventurous and try new things lol… actually he is all about trying new things.  I am leery most of the time but have gotten better.

We have now had ground turkey a couple of times, burgers, in spaghetti… but I wanted to do something different with it.  Even though I REALLY like it in spaghetti, more than ground beef.  So I was cruising the Food Network website and found Guy Fieri’s recipe and decided it sounded good.  Here is the link for the original recipe, which I say try!  I didn’t have a lot of things on hand so more got left out then I would have left out.  I think the sage in the meat would have made a big difference.  But oh well!  http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/guy-fieri/turkey-burger-patty-melts-recipe2/index.html

I tripled my recipe was I had 3 pounds of turkey to use and lots of hungry people.  Everyone seemed to really like them except Connor… he is a read meat lover and I think that was the problem.  I used provolone cheese where Guy used Gruyère, and I am thinking cheddar may have also been good.  We had ours on burger buns instead of Rye as I knew there was NO way my kids would eat rye, I think they would have given me a look like I was crazy.  So if you want to go a “safer” route try mine out, otherwise go check out Guy’s recipe above for the original!

Also, if you have not discovered Panko breadcrumbs… I suggest you go out and get some!  They are great and I use them all the time when I bread pork chops, fish and chicken tenders.  I have never used them in a recipe like this before and they really worked.

Turkey Burger Melts

1 lb ground turkey
1 cup panko breadcrumbs
1/3 cup milk
1 egg
1 tsp salt
1 tsp cracked pepper
2 tbsp olive oil
1/4 c butter – unsalted
2 red onions
8 pieces of provolone
Buns

In a bowl put the panko, milk, egg, salt and pepper. Mix it all together and let sit a min or two.  Add the turkey and combine well.  Form into patties, same size and shape of your buns/bread.  Place on plate or sheet pan and put in refrigerator for 20-30 min.

While burgers are in fridge you can cook your onions.  In a large pan heat the butter and 1 tbsp of olive oil.   Add onions and saute for 5-10 min and then sprinkle sugar over the onions and mix, let them saute for another 5-10 min or until nice caramelized and tender.  Set aside and keep warm.

Heat a griddle or pan to medium high heat, add 1 tbsp olive oil (or use olive oil pan spray)   Once nice and hot add the turkey patties and cook for 5-6 minutes per side.  Once both sides are cooked add cheese on top and leave on just long enough it gets soft and covers the top of the burgers.

I was then going to toast the buns in the toaster… but everyone was hungry so we ate them as they were! lol…. another thing you can do is spread with butter and grill them till they are brown on the griddle.  Those little things do make a difference!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

