Home > Cakes, Cookies, Recipes > Lemon Burst Cookies

Lemon Burst Cookies


This was a really easy cookie to make, I was looking for a lemon cookie for Thanksgiving, something bright and tart!  Mike loves lemon stuff and is always happy when I make lemon cookies.  I love the smell of making lemon cookies.

This recipe I found when I was cruising a new food blog someone pointed me to, Brown Eyed Baker (check out the link on the right over there) and bookmarked it as I have to do for every lemony treat.  I have never made a cake cookie before but have always wanted to as I heard they were good.  And this one was, and easy easy easy!  Plus this one did not just rely on the lemon from the cake for the flavor.

Lemon Burst Cookies

1 pkg Lemon Cake mix
2 eggs
1/3 cup vegetable oil
zest of 2 lemons
2 tbsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp lemon  extract
1/3 c confectioner’s sugar

Now for the directions, very easy.  Preheat oven to 375.  Mix everything except the confectioner’s sugar in a bowl, it will see pretty wet, at least it did to me.  Put the confectioner’s sugar in a separate bowl.

Drop spoonfuls of dough into balls in the confectioner’s sugar and roll until coated.  I put a bit of sugar on the spoon too as I had issues with it sticking to the spoon!  Place on baking sheet.

Bake for 10-12 min until edges just are slightly brown.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

