Home > Cookies, Holidays, My Loves > Ready for Holiday Baking?

Ready for Holiday Baking?


For those that know me know I am a baker at heart.  I love to bake, it relaxes me.  Thing is I go a bit crazy in the month of December.  I declare December my holding baking and sharing month.  I bake until I am sick of it and can’t picture myself in the kitchen another day and bring everything I make into work.  Sure I leave some at home for the kids and Mike, but not a lot.  I myself don’t eat a lot of it myself.

Why do I go crazy in the month of December?  Well like I said it helps with my stress levels.  Sure most would think me staying up until all odd hours would make me more stressed but it doesn’t.  I think it helps me sleep actually.  I go to bed tired instead of tossing and turning and thinking of what needs to be done tomorrow.

Do I let my kids help me?  HECK NO!  Remember I said it helps with my stress!?  Kids+kitchen = more stress!  I love them and I know they want to help, but really they just get underfoot.  I am usually making multiple things at once and work at a fast pace.  One think I love to do is make fudge on the stove, peanut brittle in the microwave (yes the microwave) and cookies in the oven!  There is nothing like making 3 things at once…. yeah I love to multi task!  So I don’t start the baking until the kids go to bed, my time is between 9 pm (if I am lucky) and midnight…. sometimes rolling into 1 or 2 am.

Every year I make a few old favorites, throw in some new ones that were popular last year and try out a few brand new ones.  And I do take requests from co workers for cookies they miss or haven’t had in a while.  They know when I bring in my big round blue Tupperware it will be a good day (not for the diet though)

I will post all my recipes as I go this year, even though I may be a little behind in it, but I promise to take pictures and post recipes!  I hope I can encourage some of you to start baking this year and sharing your goodies with coworkers and neighbors.  There are actually some out there that don’t bake, or don’t have time for baking.

What about you?  Do you bake every year?  Are there any favorite cookies you make or plan to make?  And the biggest question…. Are. YOU. Ready. To. BAKE?

Let the sugar fly!

Here are a few of the cookies/candy I make every year and plan on making again this year, oh how the list grows!

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies
Snickerdoodles
Ginger Snaps
Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies
Pecan Pie Squares
Peanut Brittle
Fudge
Caramels
Chocolate Toffee Cookies
Peanut Butter Chocolate Kiss Cookies
Buttery Finger Cookies
Chocolate Crackle Tops
Loaded Peanut Butter Cup Chocolate Cookies
Caramel filled Chocolate Cookies
Glazed Lemon Lime Cookies
Lemon Burst Cookies

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

