Home > Beef, Casseroles, Chicken, Recipes > Chow Mein aka Beef and Rice

Chow Mein aka Beef and Rice


 

I know I know…. this is NOT Chow Mein.  For some reason in my family that is what it was always called.  Along with grilled cheese being called cheese toasties.  I mostly call this dish beef and rice now, I got use to it after I was married and Mike looked at me like I was crazy when I said I was going to make Chow Mein…. and this is what I served him!

Whatever you call it, it’s good, easy, fast… and in one skillet!  You can also make it in the oven, which is how I always use to make it until I realized I could use minute rice and cut down the cooking time by a lot and I could do it on the stove and not heat up the house for over an hour.

Another nice thing is leave out the worcestershire sauce, add chicken instead of beef and you have chicken and rice…. yum!  2 great dishes and very little to remember!

It’s a family favorite, and I am always sad when there isn’t enough for leftovers!

Beef and Rice

1 lb beef (you can add more if you wish)
2 cans cream of chicken
3 cans water
3 cups minute rice
3-5 tbsp worcestershire sauce (depending on your taste, I like all 5 in it)

Brown and chop up your beef in a 12″, deep skillet, drain.  Add cream of chicken, water and w. sauce.  Bring to a boil, once at a rapid boil add rice and stir.  Let boil with rice in it for 30 seconds.  Cover and set aside.  Should take 5-7 min till it’s done.  Take off the lid and stir, most of the liquid should be gone and rice tender.  If not cover again for a few more minutes.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

