Home > Beef, Potatoes, Recipes, Sides > Chicken Fried Steak and Pan fried Potatoes

Chicken Fried Steak and Pan fried Potatoes


I sent Mike to the store to buy meat, sometimes I know what I want and sometimes I tell him to surprise me.  Well he came home with some discounted Top Round steak.  We had just seen a Drive in Dinners and Dives where they made Chicken Fried Steak… so I started searching online.  I can never find just one recipe, I always find a couple and combine them.

Paula Dean had a good one but I wanted to throw in a bit of Alton Brown’s recipe and a misc one I found online.  Let me tell you I was quite proud of myself!  These turned out really good.  I think I could have added a little more seasoning to the meat before I coated it and if my gravy had turned out…. I have issues with gravy for some reason!

I pounded them out myself using my nifty Pampered Chef meat tenderizer, you could of course ask the butcher to run it through the cubing machine for you.  You could probably use Cube steak which is already tenderized but depending on the cut of meat it’s going to taste different.

Then I decided I wanted to do something different with potatoes, something the kids would eat of course and that is a chore sometimes. These came out good and the kids actually ate them!

Chicken Fried Steak

1 c flour
6 top round, beef round steak, bottom round – trim off excess fat
1 tsp pepper
2 tsp salt
1/2 c vegetable oil
3 eggs beaten
2 c chicken broth
1/2 c whole milk

Season the meat with salt and pepper (this is the step I didn’t do and will do next time), if you haven’t had the butcher tenderize your meat sprinkle some flour on each side of meat and tenderize until about 1/4 of an inch thick.  In one bowl have your flour and in another your 3 eggs beaten.  Dredge your meat in the flour, shake off excess, dredge in egg and then in flour again.  Set them all aside and let sit 10 min before cooking.

Heat a 12″ pan over medium high heat and put enough oil in pan to coat the bottom.  Once it starts to heat up and simmer add the meat in batches, make sure there is enough room in the pan and are not overlapping.  Cook on each side until golden brown, about 4 min each side.  Once all the meat is cooked go on to gravy instructions.

Gravy:

Add the remaining vegetable oil, about 1 tbsp to the pan.  Whisk in 3 tbsp of the left over flour.  Add the 2 cups of chicken broth to deglaze the pan and whisk until it comes to a boil.  This will thicken the gravy, once it thickens add milk and whisk until it coats the back of a spoon.  Should take 5-8 min.  Season with salt and pepper if needed.  Serve over steak.

 

Pan Fried Potatoes

Potatoes — we use about 5-6
3 cloves Garlic
Shallots
Salt and Pepper – to your taste, start light you can add more later
2 tbsp Butter

You can use any potatoes you have around, I used some from my big ol bag of potatoes.  I sliced mine really thin, but you can leave them thicker like 1/4″ I was going for more of a potato chip look.  I peeled mine completely, if you want the skin on you sure can leave them on!

Heat the butter in a 12″ skillet on medium heat.  Add garlic and let it get warm and smelling good, then add potatoes, shallots and seasonings.  Put a lid on the pan for the first 3-4 min to allow them to start to cook through, when they start sizzling or turning  a light brown flip them over.  Shift them so all the ones on top are on the bottom.  The more you touch them the more they will fall apart… mine fell apart but tasted so good!  Also, if it starts to get dry add a bit more butter.

Continue to fry the potato mixture until it is the desired crispness and degree of brown that you prefer.   I get a lot of crispy ones and some soft ones, just perfect!  Should take about 20 min to fry them.  Add different seasonings if you like too!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

