Home > Beef, Pasta, Recipes > Spaghetti Sauce

Spaghetti Sauce


Yes I am back!  Found my camera… which was where I thought it was but for some reason the men/boys in my family couldn’t find it.  Oh well, I know next time to look myself!

So Spaghetti sauce, seems like a simple thing.  I know a lot of people who use the kind out of a jar, actually I think a lot of people I know use it out of a jar.  And I am talking about Prego, Ragu… you know what I mean.  I have tried to use them and my kids hate them, I don’t even really like them.  I am not sure what it is about them I don’t like, maybe I am just used to my mom’s?

I know some people get really into their spaghetti sauce and use real tomatoes, I just don’t have the time or patience to do that or to can it!  So here is my basic recipe, it’s nice because by itself it’s good or you can add things to it that cater to YOUR tastes!  You can add fresh veggies to it, no problem!

I use Hunts products and love them, if you like a different tomato sauce/paste use that, if you want more spice throw more in.  This is just somewhere to start, tweak it to what you like.  But I have been eating this sauce for 30+ years and always go back to it.  I even had my kids not eating my spaghetti because they didn’t like the sauce until I finally called my mom and asked her for her “recipe”

Oh and one thing that should be your friend… Worcheshire sauce I use it in a lot of meat dishes.  I use it for my roast all the time.  Have you ever really read the back to see all the stuff in it?  It really has a lot of flavor to it and you don’t need to use a lot of it!

Spaghetti Sauce

2 12 oz cans Hunts tomato sauce
1 6 oz call Hunts tomato paste
1 tbsp sugar (this cuts down on the acid)
1 tbsp Worcheshire sauce
1/2 – 1 tbsp Italian seasoning
1 lb of ground beef (75% of the time I make it with no meat)

You can also throw in some fresh garlic or I use a garlic bread seasoning I got from Tastefully Simple when I want a bit of garlic!  Brown the beef and leave in good size chunks.  Mix everything together in a pan on the stove over low/medium heat.  Stir until paste has mixed in with rest of the sauce and is slightly bubbling.  Turn down to warm until spaghetti is ready to serve.

And remember add a bit of salt to your boiling water for your pasta!  Worried about sticky pasta?  After you rinse the pasta to get the extra salt off drizzle a little olive oil over the pasta and toss.  Not only does it taste good but keeps it from sticking!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

