Home > Beef, Potatoes, Recipes > Meatloaf and Sliced Baked Potatoes

Meatloaf and Sliced Baked Potatoes


What is better than meatloaf?  Meatloaf sandwiches the next day?

My family loves meatloaf, I love meatloaf… what is not to like?  Meat, ketchup…. okay I know some people don’t like ketchup so use BBQ sauce.  I don’t make fancy meatloaf with cheese in it or bbq sauce.  I have tried different recipes but the kids always wants this meatloaf.

Now with meatloaf there are tons of things you can use as a filler.  I use breadcrumbs and will always use breadcrumbs (or hot dog bun crumbs) it’s what I like.  Now I have heard of people using oatmeal, crackers, stale cereal…. and many other things.  Use what you want, but know it does change the texture and flavor.  I normally use white bread but we once had some potato buns left over and I used them, I could totally tell a difference.

The sliced baked potatoes are a lot liked a baked potato with a twist!  They are something different and are a mix between those fries you get out with cheese and bacon on them and a baked potato.  Serve with sour cream too!

Oh and if you haven’t heard of using leftover meatloaf for sandwiches… make sure next time you try one!  Slice the meatloaf thin, put one layer on a piece of bread, put some ketchup on it and then another piece of bread…. YUM!  And yes, eat it cold.  Now that there are 6 of us there is never any meatloaf left over unless I make a 4-5 lb loaf!

This is a 3 lb meatloaf, you can make a bigger one just increase the bread and ketchup.  Really it’s more about how it should look and feel, add another egg if you have to.

Meatloaf

3 lbs beef
3 eggs
1 cup milk
1/2 cup ketchup (I use 3/4 cup)
3 slices of bread (crumble up by hand for breadcrumbs, or run through food processor)

Add everything to a bowl and mix.  I have included a couple pictures of how I crumble up my bread by rubbing pieces together, I set it out for a couple hours so it’s dried out a bit.  I have also the food processor, grater…. use what’s easier for you!  Spread out in a baking dish 13×9 size and bake at 350 for 60-70 min.  When there is about 10 min left I pull it out and spoon out some of the grease, drizzle ketchup (or BBQ sauce if you want) on top and put it back in for 10 min.

Sliced Baked Potatoes

1 stick melted butter
1-2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
2 Tbls salt
1/2 – 1 cup bacon (we use the Hormel or Oscar Mayer real bacon bits)
4 lg potatoes
pepper for taste

Rinse and peel the skin on the top and sides off the potato.  Cut thin slices in the potato, as thin as you can get it but without going all the way through the bottom of the potato *see picture below* don’t worry if you slice some off, I have.  Once sliced place in baking dish, or microwave safe dish.  Pour melted butter oh top and sprikle with salt and pepper.

Microwave for 15 min until fork tender (longer if needed), remove and let stand 5 min.  Add cheese and Microwave again for 5-10 min until cheese is melted.  Sprinkle with bacon and serve.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

