Home > Desserts, Recipes > Chocolate Dessert

Chocolate Dessert



I will apologize first as I meant to take a lot more pictures of this dessert and I was hoping to have a nice big piece to take a picture of in the end.  But I made this for Connor’s (my 3rd grader) class at school, which is also why the pieces are cut a lot smaller than I normally make them.  Connor’s class had a tasting party for recipes that mean something special to their family.  This one has been passed down and made since my Great Grandma.

Personally I like it made with butterscotch pudding but I know chocolate is more of a hit with kids.  I also know people who have made it with vanilla pudding, but I am not a fan of that.

This was one of the first desserts I ever made and it turned out horrible!  Why?  Because I didn’t read the box of pudding and bought the kind you have to cook not the instant one… oops!  Now I am really really careful about that.

Now, I am going to include the nuts in the recipe but I never make it with the nuts as we have allergies in our house and really I don’t like nuts in baked goods.  I will give the ingredients and directions by layer.  You will want to use a 13×9 cake pan.

Chocolate Dessert

Crust

1 c flour
1/2 c butter (softened)
1/2 c nuts (more for top if you want also)

Mix together and press into cake pan in a thin layer.  Bake at 350 for 15 min.  Cool completely

1st Layer

1  8 oz cream cheese (room temp)
1 c powdered sugar
1 c cool whip (will need more for the top so get the big tub)

Blend well with hand mixer.  Fold in cool whip.  Spread over crust carefully (it’s easy to pull up the crust)

2nd Layer

2 sm pkg instant pudding (pick your favorite flavor)
3 c milk
1 tsp vanilla

Mix all together until blended and starts thickening.  Spread on top of cream cheese layer.  Top with Cool Whip before you serve.  You can also sprinkle more nuts on the top if you wish.

Keep refrigerated


  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

