Home > Pasta, Recipes, Sides, Veggies > Spinach Orzo

Spinach Orzo


Orzo is a new pasta to me.  I made a dish last year using it but for the life of me I can’t remember what it was!  Well I was watching Food Network on Monday and saw Sandra Lee making an Orzo side dish and thought it sounded like something to try.

Tonight we had some really nice butterfly pork chops that we were going to cook on our electric skillet (which I can’t live without) and I decided that the orzo sounded like a good side dish.  I tweaked a few different spinach orzo recipes and came up with one that the kids really seemed to enjoy tonight.

Spinach Orzo

1 box chopped frozen spinach (thawed)
1 box orzo (the box I have says it feeds 8 )
32 oz of chicken stock/broth
1 shallot – minced
salt for taste
1 tbs Olive oil
2 tbs butter

Cook the orzo per instructions on box but use the chicken stock instead of water.  Add a little salt to the broth, it should only take about 9 min.  Mine sucked up all the broth, if it’s really soupy just drain a bit of the liquid out.  Add the butter and stir, then drizzle olive oil over it and stir.

Add the shallot and spinach and stir, you can keep it over a low heat to make sure everything stays warm, but mine stayed warm for quite a while.  I did not use the whole box of spinach but that is because I forgot to thaw it much ahead of time.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

