Home > Beef, Casseroles, Potatoes, Recipes > Tater Tot Casserole

Tater Tot Casserole


I was all ready to make Bubble Pizza tonight but I had no biscuits to make the bubbles!  So on the fly I decided on another favorite, Tater Tot Casserole.  Which really was perfect because someone at work was just asking me for this recipe.  And what is not to like about it?  It has meat and potatoes in it, perfect mid-west food!

I know two people who love it so much they sometimes ask for it as their birthday meal.  One is my son Connor (age 8 ) who was in heaven tonight when he found out I made this.  The other one is my brother Kory (age 33 and single ladies) who if he heard we were having it would have dropped what he was doing to come over and have some.  I love it now, but when I was a kid… no way.  I made myself choke it down.  I don’t know what it was I didn’t like, but I am glad my kids like it!

Now there are a few things you can do with this.  Instead of using cream of chicken you can use cheese soup if you like it really cheesy.  You can leave the cheese off the top (but really do you want to?) or add veggies to it.  I like it the way my mom made it and my grandma made it, so if that makes me a plain Jane, well I am okay with that!

Tater Tot Casserole

2 lbs hamburger
1 can cream of chicken
1 can of milk
Velveeta cheese
1 bag tater tots

Brown and drain hamburger.  Mix with soup and milk and place in the bottom of the baking dish (I mix it all in there) Place tater tots on top.

Bake for 45 min to 1 hour.  Remove 5 min or so before it’s done to put cheese slices on top.  I don’t usually use the singles, I like to slice my cheese.  I don’t care what anyone says it does taste different.  But in a pinch I have used the singles… like tonight.  Put back in until cheese is melted and serve!  YUM!

For those asking (Kris and Leigh) “Kara, where are the desserts?  The baked goods…”  I promise to have more of those soon.  With school starting and garage sales I haven’t had the time.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

