Home > Bread, Recipes > Zucchini bread

Zucchini bread


So if you are like me you don’t make many breads unless it’s banana bread because hey those soft bananas are calling to be baked!  So when one of the gals at work gave me 2 GIANT zucchini I decided to make bread.  I looked online for recipes and found a lot, but I didn’t feel like any of them were right.  So I did what I always do when I can’t find a recipe I want to use, I call mom.

She had already told me she had a really good recipe, so I gave her a call.  She dug out her 100 year old recipe (as she says) and gave it to me over the phone. Now let’s address these giant zucchini, I got 6 cups of shredded zucchini out of one.  So I realized fast I had more than I needed for one batch.  So I made enough for the neighbors, don’t you wish I was your neighbor?

(Thanks to my beautiful model helping make a WOW that is a big Zucchini face)

Zucchini Bread

(the 100 year old recipe)
3 Eggs
1 cup vegetable oil
2 cups sugar
3 tsp vanilla
2 cups peeled & grated zucchini
3 cups flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
3 tsp cinnamon
chocolate chips optional
*plus a little additional cinnamon and sugar for the top, and about 2 tbsp butter*

Mix all the dry ingredients together, then add the wet and finally add the zucchini (and chocolate chips if you are using them) Pour into 2 greased loaf pans.  Bake 1 hour at 325  Once you pull it out melt some butter (2 tbsp or so) in the microwave and drizzle on top of the bread.  Sprinkle cinnamon and sugar mixture over the butter and let cool.  Or if you are like my family who can’t wait, dig in!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

