Home > Ideal Protein Phase 1, Recipes, soup > Cabbage Soup!

Cabbage Soup!


Image

Not the prettiest soup, but pretty darn good…. at least I have heard!  Mike, my husband, loves soup and he loves cabbage.  Me, I am okay with cabbage and soup… well I like it, but mostly chicken noodle.

So we were trying to find new ways to get our veggies in and I came across a suggestion of cabbage soup, like from the cabbage soup diet.  So I looked it up and made a huge batch and Mike LOVED it.  So I decided to make it again this week.  He will take a little for lunch every other day or so (yes IP people he has tomatoes more than 2x a week but no where near 2 cups a day so he figures it’s okay and is still losing weight)

This soup is really simple, cut up some veggies put it in a stock pot and let it cook for 2-3 hours.  This last time Mike was in charge of watching it as I went to bed and it cooked for 4 hours and a lot of the liquid went away… would not recommend that.  It is still good, just quite soup like.

Leeks and green onions cooking in some olive oil, in my dutch oven, I love it!

Image    Image

Ingredients:

A bunch of green onions
2 Green Peppers (something I forgot to put them in this batch!)
2 cans of diced tomatoes (I like petite)
1 bunch of celery
1-2 big leeks
Whole head of cabbage
1 48oz chicken broth (can use veggie too)
3-4 cups water
4 Tbsp olive oil
Season to taste with salt, pepper and garlic

- other veggies you can add that I did not, Carrots (not IP friendly), mushrooms…  really anything else you might like.

Image

Directions: Chop up the green onions and leeks, while doing that put your stock pot on low heat. Right before putting the onions and leeks in put in your olive oil and turn up the heat to medium. Cut up your celery and add it to the stock pot.  At this point add all of your chicken broth and stir. Dice your green peppers and add them and your tomatoes to the pot.  Cut your cabbage into 4ths and slice it fromt that point (if you can tell from the picture) go ahead and add it to the pot and now add your 3-4 cups of water, you want it as full as you can get it without going over the pot.  Don’t worry the cabbage will shrink down!  Go ahead and add your seasoning now, remember this is a big batch but you can also add more seasoning later.

Onions, leeks, chicken stock and tomatoes!   And a VERY full pot of cabbage! 

Image     Image

Check it every 30-45 min and give it a good stir.  I cooked it on medium for about 2 hours before lowering it to low.  Go ahead and let it cook for 2-3 hours, you can tell when it’s ready to come off as everything will be nice and soft.

Image

  1. August 9, 2014 at 12:00 pm

    Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous
    to and you are just extremely fantastic. I really like what you’ve acquired here,
    really like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it.
    You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it
    smart. I can not wait to read much more from you.
    This is really a great website.

  2. August 5, 2014 at 6:28 am

    whoah this weblog is great i love reading your articles.
    Stay up the great work! You already know, lots of individuals are searching around for
    this information, you can help them greatly.

  3. July 23, 2014 at 9:39 pm

    I don’t even know how I finished up here, but I assumed this submit was great.

    I do not recognise who you might be but certainly you’re
    going to a famous blogger in case you are not already. Cheers!

  4. July 20, 2014 at 11:49 pm

    We are a gaggle of volunteers and starting a brand new scheme in our community.
    Your site provided us with useful information to work on. You have done a formidable task and our entire group will likely be
    grateful to you.

  5. July 17, 2014 at 2:17 pm

    When someone writes an post he/she retains the thought of a user in his/her
    mind that how a user can understand it. Thus that’s why this piece of writing is perfect.
    Thanks!

  6. July 12, 2014 at 4:37 am

    This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and
    look forward to seeking more of your fantastic post. Also,
    I’ve shared your web site in my social networks!

  7. July 12, 2014 at 2:18 am

    obviously like your web site but you need to take a look at the spelling on several
    of your posts. A number of them are rife with spelling issues and I to find it
    very troublesome to inform the truth nevertheless I’ll surely come
    back again.

  8. July 10, 2014 at 12:58 pm

    Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what
    I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the
    whole thing. Do you have any tips for inexperienced blog
    writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

  9. July 10, 2014 at 4:25 am

    I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I’m not sure
    whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty.
    You are incredible! Thanks!

  10. July 8, 2014 at 10:10 pm

    I’m really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself?

    Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one nowadays.

  11. July 8, 2014 at 5:53 pm

    Undeniably believe that which you said. Your favorite
    reason appeared to be on the web the easiest thing to
    be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get irked while people think about worries that they plainly don’t know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the
    whole thing without having side-effects , people could take
    a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  12. July 8, 2014 at 11:27 am

    Hello! I just would like to give you a huge thumbs up for
    your great info you have right here on this post.
    I am returning to your blog for more soon.

  13. July 8, 2014 at 9:24 am

    Hi are using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the blog world but
    I’m trying to get started and set up my own. Do you require any html coding expertise to make your own blog?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

  14. July 7, 2014 at 7:28 pm

    Remarkable! Its genuinely remarkable piece of writing, I have got much clear idea regarding from this paragraph.

  15. July 6, 2014 at 6:09 am

    Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an e-mail.
    I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might
    be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it
    develop over time.

  16. July 2, 2014 at 1:22 pm

    Excellent pieces. Keep writing such kind of information on your site.
    Im really impressed by it.
    Hello there, You have performed an incredible job. I will certainly digg
    it and personally suggest to my friends.
    I am confident they will be benefited from this
    site.

  17. June 13, 2014 at 9:03 pm

    obviously like your website but you have to check the spelling
    on quite a few of your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling problems and
    I in finding it very bothersome to inform the reality on the other hand I’ll certainly come again again.

  18. August 27, 2013 at 3:56 am

    It’s in reality a great and helpful piece of info. I’m
    glad that you just shared this helpful information with us.
    Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 358 other followers

