Home > Recipes > Pickle Zipper Fish w/ Roasted Cauliflower

Pickle Zipper Fish w/ Roasted Cauliflower


Image

So one of the packets from Ideal Protein is Dill Pickle Zippers, they look like this

Image

They are crunchy and if you like dill you will love these!  Me… well I love dill pickles but these were a bit strong.  I ate a few and just couldn’t eat anymore.  Mike didn’t mind them but I decided to get creative and use our last packet up a different way.  I took one packet and crushed it up to coat Tilapia with!

One thing I would do differently is NOT coat the bottom of the fish.  It was kind of strong sometimes and one packet almost didn’t cover all the fish.  Notice we used some shrimp, these were pre-cooked so I just threw them in a pan over medium heat with a little seasoning and olive oil.

Image

Ingredients:

4 Tilapia fillets (we used frozen)
1 IP packet of Dill Pickle Zippers – don’t have these use something else you have around
1/4 c of lemon juice
1 Tbsp of mustard (it called for 1 tsp of dry but I didn’t have it so I used regular)
2 Tbsp olive oil plus spray for the pan
Salt & Pepper
1/2 Tbsp Garlic Powder (use more if you like it)
1-2 tsp chili powder
1 head of cauliflower

Mixtures for dipping the fish
Image

Fish Directions:

Pre Heat oven to 350, mix lemon juice, mustard and 2 Tbsp of olive oil in one pan/bowl.  In another bowl/pan crush your dill pickle zippers, add some salt and pepper (about 1 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper) and mix.  Line a cookie sheet with aluminum foil and spray with a little olive oil (I didn’t and learned my lesson!).  Dip your fish in the mustard mix, both sides.  Then you can either place the fish on the cookie sheet and press the mixture on the top or place it in the mixture (with it pushed aside) and press it on top.  I would not put much or any on the bottom, it made it a bit strong.  Place on cookie sheet.  Once all done pop into the oven for 15-20 min, check to see if it’s flaky.  I went about 18 min with mine and it was NOT dried out.

Image Image

Cauliflower Directions:

You can grab a bag of precut or chop up a head.  Usually I use a fresh head but this time grabbed a bag of precut!  Line a pan with aluminum foil and spray lightly with olive oil.  Spread out your cauliflower and spray them with olive oil.  Sprinkle your garlic, chili powder and some salt and pepper on top.  Toss into the oven with your fish!  At about 12 min or so I pulled it out and turned them and let them cook for another 5-7 min.  You can tell they are done when they start getting a little brown.

YUMMY!  And Healthy!

  1. July 23, 2014 at 8:31 pm

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was curious
    what all is needed to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% positive. Any tips or advice
    would be greatly appreciated. Cheers

  2. July 16, 2014 at 3:57 am

    I am extremely impressed with your writing skills as
    well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself?
    Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s
    rare to see a great blog like this one these days.

  3. July 8, 2014 at 5:14 pm

    Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that
    it’s truly informative. I am gonna watch out for
    brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future.
    Numerous people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  4. July 7, 2014 at 9:39 pm

    It’s very simple to find out any matter onn net as compared
    to books, as I fond this piece of writing at this website.

  5. June 24, 2014 at 10:34 pm

    Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of the pictures aren’t
    loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.

    I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the
    same outcome.

  6. June 14, 2014 at 4:25 pm

    Good day! I know this is kinda off topic however
    , I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in trading links or maybe
    guest writing a blog post or vice-versa? My website covers a lot
    of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly
    benefit from each other. If you are interested feel
    free to shoot me an email. I look forward to hearing from you!
    Great blog by the way!

  7. April 27, 2013 at 6:15 pm

    I want to to thank you for this good read!! I definitely loved every little bit of it.
    I have got you bookmarked to look at new things you post…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 357 other followers

