Home > Chicken, Pasta, Recipes, Slow Cooker > Sweet and Sour Slow Cooker Chicken W/Orzo

Sweet and Sour Slow Cooker Chicken W/Orzo


Just saw this on one of my favorite food blogs beginning of the week and knew I had to make it this weekend!  I love crockpot recipes.  I of course tweaked this one a bit and I will be making it again.

The recipe calls for 4-6 chicken breasts, well I only had 3 and I thought it would be enough.  I really didn’t want to make Mike run to the store for more.  It was good with the 3 but I am going to use more for sure next time and it will be REALLY good.  The picture above is with extra “sauce” on it, the kids and I didn’t add the extra sauce to ours and it was still really flavorful.  I couldn’t believe how good the chicken itself was.

Also, you could use white rice instead of orzo pasta but I didn’t think I had enough rice on hand so I opted for the orzo.  I have put the recipe below for the orzo as I didn’t just use water.

After the chicken was done I transferred it to a bowl while the orzo was finishing, I used a wooden spoon to chop it up (it was sooo tender!)  Once the orzo was done and rinsed I added it to the bowl and tossed together.  You can keep them separated and put the chicken over the rice or pasta.  It’s just easier to mix it together so I had no children saying they didn’t want a lot of chicken.  All the kids gave it 2 thumbs up!  Oh, and then we scooped out the onion, garlic and sauce from the crockpot so if someone (Mike) wanted more to put on his supper he had it.

Original recipe here http://www.melskitchencafe.com/2010/09/kansas-city-sues-chicken-slow-cooker.html

Sweet and Sour Slow Cooker Chicken

4-6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
2 tablespoons olive oil (you can use butter also)
1/4 cup ketchup
1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 onion, diced (I used a yellow one)
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1/2 teaspoon dry mustard
1 cup low-sodium beef broth
3 cloves garlic
Salt and Pepper for chicken

Heat your olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  While that is heating up mix ketchup, vinegar, sugar, onion, soy sauce, mustard, broth and garlic in crockpot, whisk together.  Season your chicken with salt and pepper and cook them for a couple of minutes each side so they are nice and brown but not fully cooked.  Move the chicken to the slow cooker.  Cover the crockpot and cook on low for 6 hours.  It will be a bit soupy, you can drain some of the liquid if you wish and serve over rice, noodles… or maybe even over mashed potatoes.

Orzo

1 lb orzo
32 oz chicken stock
1 c water
3 tbsp butter
1 tbsp salt

Bring stock, water and butter to boil in pan on stove.  Once at a boil add salt and then orzo.  Cook until tender (check box instructions)  Once done drain and run a little hot water over it.

  1. November 10, 2012 at 1:01 am | #1

    I see these crockpot receipes but a lot of them say to cook the items first and then put in the crockpot. I am not much of a cook but doesn’t that take away from the beauty of the crockpot, cooking it first anyway on the stove top? I am going to rebel and experiment and throw all of this in the crockpot without cooking first and just let the crockpot do it’s magic, I hope.

  1. January 2, 2011 at 12:25 pm | #1

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 356 other followers

