Home > Chicken, Recipes, Sides, Veggies > Lemon Chicken and Tasty Peas

Lemon Chicken and Tasty Peas


Tonight I wanted to do something simple, and when I mean simple I mean not standing in the kitchen watching over something.  So I googled and checked out a couple of my favorite blog for chicken recipes… baked chicken recipes and found one over at My Kitchen Cafe.  Exactly what I wanted, I had everything needed!  Of course I tweaked it a bit, and at the last minute decided to throw some frozen peas together.  Kids are not big pea fans unless they are in something like Fried Rice.  But I have learned to dress up certain veggies so they aren’t horrible for them, but taste good!

Here is the original recipe for the chicken

http://www.melskitchencafe.com/2010/05/grilled-island-chicken-2.html

Lemon Chicken

1/3 cup Olive oil
Juice from 1 Lemon (use 2 if they are small)
1 ½ tablespoons soy sauce
1 clove garlic, finely minced (I took the microplaner to it)
¼ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
3-5 chicken breasts

You can use the above as a marinade but if you are a last minute planner like me my way makes it just as flavorful!

Preheat oven to 350.  Mix everything together above (except chicken) place chicken in a baking dish and pour mixture over chicken.  Put chicken in oven for about 45 min, I turned the chicken once when there was about 20 min left to go as a lot of the lemon zest was on top and I didn’t want it to burn.

Tasty Peas

1 bag of frozen peas (we get the sweet ones)
3 tbls butter1/2 tsp salt (or less depending on your taste)
1/2 tsp pepper

Cook Peas according to package, put butter, salt and pepper in a microwave safe dish, melt in microwave, drizzle over peas and toss.

Of course if you are like Emma with any green veggies you will still eat the peas like this:

  1. joy f
    August 29, 2010 at 11:02 pm

    Ok, it is in the oven and smellin good. It was very simple. I all of a sudden got a craving for rice. Will have to check the cupboards. Otherwise, corn on the cob and a green vegy. Ummm. Thanks for the garlic Kara. I am going to have to prepare my kitchen a little better. The shopping list is growing.

    • August 31, 2010 at 2:54 am

      How did you guys like it? Thumbs up?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 358 other followers

